YOU MAKE THE CALL 11 CHECK FROM BEHIND MAJOR

A split decision on the part of the on ice officials. Referee John Thompson sends Rocket leading scorer Mark MacAulay to the showers in LaSalle on October 29, 2014 with a major penalty for a check from behind on Viper defenseman Nick Gauvin while referee Ryan Renaud kept his arm down and felt it was a clean check.

The call will sideline MacAulay for a 2-game suspension. He will miss the Rockets’ home-an-home series with the first place Leamington Flyers which will commence on Saturday, November 1 at the WMMC in Strathroy before the Rockets travel to Leamington the following Thursday.

Was it a check from behind? If so did it deserve a major call? Should a different call been made or none at all? Gauvin was not injured and continued to play in the game.  Referee Renaud had a clear view of the play and made no call.  You make the call.

David Honsberger

You must be logged in to post a comment Login