You Make The Call 15

I have found video of the collision between Leamington Flyer Kyle Quick and London National Justin Tugwell.  I’ve pulled the video from the National’s website, it’s their highlight reel from the game.  You need to watch from 2:37, that’s the start of the play.  No penalty was called on the play, Gould having ruled that Quick’s knee didn’t come up.  So, should there have been a penalty, and what would the call have been, or was this just an unfortunate collision?

 

You all know that I am a die-hard Rockets fan, but I am also a die-hard GOJHL fan, having been watching Jr. B hockey since I was 10 years old. I will only watch the GOJHL and during the hockey season, you never know what arena RG is gonna show up at. I'm bringing you the games, news, and updates of the GOJHL. RG is on Facebook at www.facebook.com/TheRocketGirl16 and you can find me on Twitter at www.twitter.com/TheRocketGirl16 If you hear of anything about any of the teams in the GOJHL, or have questions about anything, feel free to post it. If I don't know the answer, I know how to find it.

4 Comments

  1. Welland fan

    December 20, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    Agree with RG.

  2. David Honsberger

    David Honsberger

    December 19, 2014 at 2:07 pm

    This incident reminds me somewhat of the Eric Beauchamp (Strathroy forward) – Mike Ostropolic (Chatham goaltender) collision from December 1, 2007 with significantly less dire consequences. Ostropolic was hurt on the play and although Chatham sent the video in for review, there was no further disciplinary action.

    In both cases the goaltender remained upright and absorbed a great deal of the hit. This is an area of the goaltender’s game where I believe they do not get enough instruction.

    When you see a NHL goaltender go out for a puck, if they feel there is going to be a collision, they slide prone on the ice. In this manner, the skater will most likely fly over top of them and the likelihood of injury to either player is mimimized.

    I believe that I have the Beauchamp-Ostropolic incident in my archives. I’ll see if I can dig it out and post the video.

  3. RocketGirl

    December 19, 2014 at 11:38 am

    This isn’t a popular opinion, but Tugwell put himself in that position. He didn’t have to try and poke check the puck from Quick. He could have stayed in position and taken the shot that Quick would have made. As with all shots, he had a 50/50 chance of stopping it or it being a goal.

    But this collision changed the entire game. Had it not happened, the game would have been a lot closer than 6-3, and Nats maybe would have won it. The momentum shifted at that point to Leamington.

  4. muffman

    December 19, 2014 at 11:23 am

    In my opinion. It looked like a unfortunate collision.. I didn’t see a call there to be made, other than the LONDON’S # 9 retaliation

You must be logged in to post a comment Login